Advertising and Promotion Commission

 The Advertising and Promotion Commission was created on March 1, 1977 with Ordinance 2310 pursuant to the provisions of  A.C.A 26-75-605, by the City Board to administer the Advertising and Promotion Fund.  The A&P Fund can be used for the advertisement and promotion of the City and its environs, and/or construction, reconstruction, repair, maintenance, improvement, equipping, and operation of public recreation facilities.  The Commission may contract with agencies and incur such administrative costs that it deems necessary to conduct its business.   

One percent of all revenues generated by the local Hotel, Motel, and Restaurant (HMR) Tax shall be credited to the A&P Fund and made available for purposes determined by the A&P Commission.  The funds shall be used for the promotion and encouragement of tourism and conventions, while not allowing such special revenues to be utilized for expenditures that are normally paid from general revenues of the City.


Marilyn Heifner
Fayetteville Convention and Visitors Bureau


Staggered four-year terms, ending March 31.


The Commission shall be composed of seven members as follows:

  • Four members shall be owners or managers of businesses in the tourism industry (at least three must be owners or managers of hotels, motels, restaurants, or other establishments engaged in the business of selling food for consumption on premises).
  • Two members shall be members of the governing body of the city and selected by the governing body and shall serve at the will of the governing body.
  • One Member shall be from the public-at-large.


Vacancies on the Commission, whether resulting from expiration of a regular term or otherwise, in any of the four tourism industry positions or the at-large position shall be filled by appointment made by the remaining members of the Commission, with the approval of the governing body of the City.

Public Notification

A weekly meetings list is prepared by the City Clerk office which is distributed to the press and posted on the City’s web site:

Meeting Times

Regular meetings are held the second Monday of each month at 2:00 p.m. in the Fayetteville Town Center.

City of Fayetteville Appointees

Position Name Address Phone Terms
Tourism Industry Appointee Ching Mong 1998 N. College Ave., Fayetteville, AR 72703 (479) 466-9327 09/18/2012 thru 04/01/2018
Tourism Industry Appointee Tim Freeman 1254 N. Maxwell Dr., Fayetteville, AR 72703 (479) 466-4629 10/01/2013 thru 03/31/2016
Tourism Industry Appointee Matt Behrend 1251 North Shiloh, Fayetteville, AR 72704 (479) 305-0005 04/01/2013 thru 03/31/2015
Tourism Industry Appointee Hannah Withers 116 N. Block Avenue, Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 287-4396 04/01/2013 thru 03/31/2017
Public At Large Appointee Robert "Bobby" Ferrell 2413 Twin Oaks Court, Fayetteville, AR 72703 (479) 442-3535 04/01/2013 thru 03/31/2017
City of Fayetteville Appointee Matthew Petty 113 West Mountain, Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 595-8703 01/01/2013 thru Indefinitely
City of Fayetteville Appointee Adella Gray 1681 N Starr Drive, Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 442-4958 01/06/15 thru Indefinitely