Audit Committee

The Audit Committee was created on October 3, 2000 by Resolution 134-00.  Ordinance 5522 was passed on September 4, 2012 to enact Article XXIV Audit Committee and Internal Auditor into Chapter 33 Departments, Boards, Commissions and Authorities of the Code of Fayetteville.  The Audit Committee serves in an advisory capacity between the City Council, the independent auditor, the Internal Auditor and City Administration concerning financial accounting and reporting, audit functions, internal controls and compliance with governmental regulations. The Audit Committee shall ensure the independence of the independent auditor, the ability and responsibility of the Internal Auditor to report any concerns about finances or accounting to the Audit Committee, Administration and City Council, the integrity of the Administration and the adequacy of public disclosures.  The Audit Committee shall, in conjunction with the external auditors, review the City’s financial reports and information, the City’s system of internal financial and accounting controls, and the City’s compliance with governmental laws and regulations regarding financial matters.


Paul Becker, 575-8330 or Marsha Hertweck, 575-8281, Interim Staff Contacts


Three-year terms for the citizens of Fayetteville.


The Committee shall be comprised of four members. The members of the committee shall designate a chairperson by majority vote of the full committee membership.

  • One Alderman
  • Three Citizens of Fayetteville (One member must be a Certified Public Accountant, CPA)


Citizen vacancies on the committee are appointed by the governing body of the City. The Mayor will appoint a City Council Member to serve for the length of his or her elected term or three years, whichever is shorter.

Public Notification

A weekly meetings list is prepared by the City Clerk office which is distributed to the press and posted on the City's web site:

Meeting Times

The Committee shall meet at least three times annually, one of which must be with the independent auditor, Internal Auditor, and Administration to discuss the independent auditor's report and findings following its audit of the City.
Meeting Minutes 

City of Fayetteville Appointees

Position Name Address Phone Terms
Alderman Matthew Petty 113 West Mountain, Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 595-8703 10/15/2013 thru 10/15/2016
CPA David Mosley 959 East Dogwood Lane, Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 249-8893 01/01/2015 thru 12/31/2017
Jacob J. Pesicek 3583 West Chevaux Dr., Fayetteville, AR 72704 (901) 827-3893 07/01/2013 thru 12/31/2015
L. Wayne Britt 2669 N. Sherwood Lane, Fayetteville, AR 72703 (479) 521-1878 01/01/2014 thru 12/31/2016