Fayetteville Public Library Board of Trustees

The Fayetteville Library was established in June of 1916.  On Tuesday, July 27, 1959 the City Council voted to take over the operation of the library and establish the Fayetteville Public Library Board of Trustees as required by state statutes.  The board term end dates were amended by Ordinance 2324, on April 5, 1977. The purpose of the Board of Trustees is to provide leadership in performing the mission of the Library; to serve as a liaison between the library and the city; and to ensure the library meets the informational, educational and recreational needs of the community.  The Library Board is responsible for library funds, construction and maintenance of any library building, policies and planning, and the appointment of the library director.  Title 13 of the Arkansas Code Annotated governs the establishment and maintenance of public libraries in cities of the first class.  A.C.A. 13-2-502 is summarized below:


David Johnson, Executive Director

(479) 856-7100


Staggered five-year terms, ending April 1 with no term limits.


The Board shall be composed of five to seven members from the public-at-large.


Vacancies on the Board shall be appointed by the Mayor of the city with the approval of the City Council.  Trustees may be removed if absent from four consecutive meetings of the board without due explanation.

Public Notification

Meetings are published by the City Clerk on the weekly meetings list which is distributed to the media representatives with press boxes in the City Clerk office and released via the Internet www.fayetteville-ar.gov

Meeting Times

Regular meetings are held on the third Monday of even numbered months at 4:00 p.m. in the library's meeting room.

Fayetteville Public Library Board of Trustees Agendas
Fayetteville Public Library Board of Trustees Minutes

City of Fayetteville Appointees

Position Name Address Phone Terms
President Kim Agee 1561 N. Rhonda Dr., Fayetteville, AR 72703 (479) 856-5243 04/01/2011 thru 04/01/2016
Vice President Brenda Boudreaux 355 N. Durango Place, Fayetteville, AR 72704 (479) 521-7331 04/01/2012 thru 04/01/2017
Treasurer Maylon Rice PO Box 3810, Fayetteville, AR 72702 (479) 935-7423 04/01/2010 thru 04/01/2020
Secretary Hershey Garner 3390 E. Mission Boulevard, Fayetteville, AR 72703 (479) 444-8307 04/01/2014 thru 04/01/2019
Janine A. Parry 116 East Maple, Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 409-0968 10/01/2014 thru 04/01/2018
Susan Graham 209 E. North St., Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 444-7070 04/01/2012 thru 04/01/2017
Suzanne Clark 438 E. Fairway Ln., Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 521-4725 04/01/2009 thru 04/01/2018