Policemen's Pension and Relief Fund Board of Trustees

The Policemen’s Pension and Relief Fund Board of Trustees was established pursuant to the A.C.A. 24-11-405.  The board shall make all necessary rules and regulations for its government and the discharge of its duties and shall hear and decide all applications for relief or pension.  The Board shall have the power to make all rules and regulations needful of its guidance to implement the provisions regarding Board composition.


Sondra Smith

City Clerk/Treasurer



Two-year terms, ending May 31.


The Board shall be composed of seven members as follows:

  • The chief executive, who shall serve as chairman of the board
  • The city treasurer, who shall be the treasurer of the fund;
  • Five active or retired members of the pension fund;


If there are no active members of the pension fund, all five members shall be elected from and by the retired membership of the pension fund. The retired member or members shall be chosen in May of each year by a method to be determined by the board, with the member or members to be chosen in alternating years.

Public Notification

Meetings are published by the City Clerk Division on the weekly meetings list which is distributed to the media representatives with press boxes in the City Clerk's office and released via the Internet www.fayetteville-ar.gov

Meeting Times

Regular meetings are held the third Thursday of each quarter in January, April, July, and October at 3:00 p.m. in Room 326 at the City Administration Building.

City of Fayetteville Appointees

Position Name Address Phone Terms
Chairman Mayor Lioneld Jordan 113 W. Mountain, Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 575-8330 01/01/2009 thru Indefinitely
Treasurer Sondra Smith 113 West Mountain, Fayetteville, 72701 (479) 575-8323 02/03/2003 thru Indefinitely
Retired Position 1/Secretary Eldon Roberts 4199 E. Huntsville Rd., Fayetteville, 72701 (479) 521-0183 06/01/2005 thru 05/31/2015
Retired Position 3 John Brown PO Box 289, Greenland, AR 72737 (479) 225-3540 06/01/2013 thru 05/31/15
Retired Position 2 Ruston Cole 4201 East Canvas Road, Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 841-2356 06/01/14 thru 05/31/16
Retired Position 4 Melvin Stanley P.O. Box 289, Greenland, 72737 (479) 839-3106 11/15/2006 thru 05/31/2015
Retired Position 5 Frank Johnson 3328 Jasper Ln, Fayetteville, 72704 (479) 204-2588 06/01/2006 thru 05/31/2016