Town and Gown Advisory Committee

The Town and Gown Advisory Committee was created by Ordinance 5511 on July 3, 2012. On February 5, 2013 Ordinance 5564 was passed to amend the structure of the City and University appointments. This Committee shall be a forum for collaboration between the City of Fayetteville and the University of Arkansas on mutually relevant issues including, but not limited to, campus expansions, the need for student housing both on and off campus, and parking and noise in the areas adjacent to or nearby the campus. The Committee is empowered only to advise and make recommendations on a periodic basis to both the City Council and the University of Arkansas on such issues, and to adopt rules for the conduct of its own business.


Lindsley Smith, City of Fayetteville Communications Director 575-8328


Members appointed by the City Council shall serve a two year term. Members appointed by the Mayor, with the exception of the City Council member appointed by the Mayor, shall serve at the pleasure of the Mayor. Members appointed from the University of Arkansas shall serve for such period as to be determined by the University.


The committee is comprised of twenty-one voting members as follows:

  • One City Council member appointed by the Mayor;
  • One resident of Ward 1 appointed by the City Council;
  • One resident of Ward 2 appointed by the City Council;
  • One resident of Ward 3 appointed by the City Council;
  • One resident of Ward 4 appointed by the City Council;
  • One member shall be a business owner in the City or a representative of the City development community appointed by the City Council;
  • One member shall be a University of Arkansas student living in the City appointed by the City Council;
  • Seven members shall be City staff appointed by the Mayor; and
  • Seven members shall be representatives from the University of Arkansas, to be selected by the Chancellor or the Chancellor's designee.


City of Fayetteville vacancies are filled by appointment from the governing body of the City.

Public Notification

A weekly meetings list is prepared by the City Clerk office which is distributed to the press and posted on the City's web site:

Meeting Times

The Committee meets the third Monday every other month at 3:00 p.m. at the AT&T Conference Room, Genesis Technology Incubator, 700 Research Center Blvd., Fayetteville, AR 72701.

City of Fayetteville Appointees

Position Name Address Phone Terms
Alderman Mark Kinion 113 West Mountain, Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 442-7868 10/10/2012 thru Indefinitely
Ward 1 Resident Phil Jones 1375 S. River Meadows Dr., Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 531-7896 10/01/2013 thru 09/30/2015
Ward 2 Resident Matthew Ramsey (501) 654-4447 01/01/2015 thru 09/30/2016
Ward 3 Resident Tommy Deweese 2253 Golden Oaks, Fayetteville, AR 72703 (479) 521-5456 10/01/2012 thru 09/30/15
Chair/Ward 4 Resident Ryan Miller 2879 N. Bluegrass Pl., Fayetteville, AR 72704 (479) 857-0116 10/01/2012 thru 09/30/2016
Business Owner/City Development Community Steve Clark 123 West Mountain, Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 521-4725 10/01/2012 thru 09/30/2016
University of Arkansas Student Victoria Whitfield 2822 North Old Wire Road, Fayetteville, AR 72703 (479) 445-9220 04/01/2014 thru 09/30/2015
City Staff Representative Casey Jones (479) 575-8377
City Staff Representative David Dayringer (479) 575-8365
City Staff Representative Don Marr (479) 575-8330
City Staff Representative Jeremy Pate (479) 444-3443
City Staff Representative Terry Gulley (479) 575-8228
City Staff Representative Tim Nyander (479) 575-8386
City Staff Representative Yolanda Fields (479) 575-8290
University of Arkansas Representative Daniel McFarland (318) 773-5554
Co-Chair/University of Arkansas Representative Danny Pugh (479) 575-5007
University of Arkansas Representative Gary Smith (479) 575-3304
University of Arkansas Representative Matt Trantham (479) 935-6044
University of Arkansas Representative Melissa Harwood-Rom (479) 575-5004
University of Arkansas Representative Mike Johnson (479) 575-6601
University of Arkansas Representative Randy Massanelli (479) 575-7964