Staying Informed

AccessFayetteville provides numerous ways to stay informed about your local government.


NPDES Permit

Fayetteville is a regulated Small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4).

All regulated Small MS4s permitted under the ADEQ general permit are required to develop and implement a Stormwater Management Plan (SWMP) to address each of the Six Minimum Control Measures that are contained in the federal regulation and Part V.B of the ADEQ general permit.  These SWMPs must be developed and fully implemented no more than five (5) years from the effective date of the permit (i.e., February 1, 2009).  The SWMP must include Best Management Practices (BMPs) for each of the minimum control measures along with Measurable Goals and interim milestones for each BMP.

Status update of NPDES permit - The new permit issue date was July 31, 2009.  The City's NOI went to public comment for 30 days on February 5, 2010.  ADEQ will relay any comments for the City to address in its NOI soon and once those comments are reviewed by ADEQ then Fayetteville will be covered under the new MS4 permit which expires July 31, 2014.  For more information visit the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality.