Staying Informed

AccessFayetteville provides numerous ways to stay informed about your local government.


City of Fayetteville Honored as a Digital City of the Year


Today, the Center for Digital Government and Digital Communities Program announced the top-ranked digital city governments in the 13th annual Digital Cities Survey, and the City of Fayetteville ranked 2nd in the nation for cities with populations under 75,000.

The survey criteria focused on results achieved by cities - via the use of technology - in operating efficiencies, realizing strategic objectives, innovative or creative solutions or approaches, effective collaboration, and transparency measures, among other criteria.  The Center for Digital Government is a national research and advisory institute for information technology policies and best practices in state and local government.  The Center is a division of eRepublic, a national publishing, event and research company focused on smart media for public sector innovation. 

"Nationally the number of tech-savvy digital cities is increasing, particularly among the larger jurisdictions responding to the survey," said Todd Sander, Executive Director of the Center for Digital Government. "The top digital cities are leaders in open data and transparency efforts, as well as innovators in deploying mobile applications to citizens while conforming to fiscal standards."  "These are the cities that invest in engaging with their constituencies and that continuously improve their municipal services to be models of excellence nationally," said Marie Lopez-Rogers, NLC President and Mayor of Avondale. She added, "The cities honored reflect public administrators and IT professionals wisely adopting technologies with a readiness to share with others serving public interests. NLC and the City of Avondale are strong believers in those approaches. The Center for Digital Government deserves immense credit for its work facilitating community success through technology for many years."

The top 10 ranked cities will be honored at a special awards ceremony during the National League of Cities (NLC) annual conference in Seattle, Washington, on November 15.