Staying Informed

AccessFayetteville provides numerous ways to stay informed about your local government.


Fayetteville Honored With Wildlife Federation Awards


The Arkansas Wildlife Federation in cooperation with the National Wildlife Federation presented the City of Fayetteville, Arkansas, with the 2013 Rex Hancock Wildlife Conservationist of the Year Award for outstanding contributions to the wise use and management of the Nation's natural resources.  The Annual Governor's Conservation Achievement awards are designed to honor individuals, organizations, and businesses that have gone beyond the call of duty to promote the conservation of our natural resources. 

Fayetteville resident Terri Lane was the primary organizer of the Community Wildlife Habitat project that developed out of the City of Fayetteville Environmental Action Committee, in which Fayetteville became the first Community Wildlife Habitat in the State of Arkansas and 61st in the nation; the primary focus of Fayetteville's receipt of this prestigious honor.  In addition to this award, Mayor Lioneld Jordan received the 2013 Conservationist Achievement Award for extraordinary contribution to the conservation of wildlife and natural resources. 


City of Fayetteville being awarded the Rex Hancock Wildlife Conservationist of the Year award.  Mayor Jordan, Dana Smith (EAC and Director for Sustainability for FPS), and Terri Lane (EAC Project Leader for the City of Fayetteville Community Wildlife Habitat Project, and Exec. Director of the Northwest Arkansas Land Trust), accepting






Mayor Jordan accepting the National Wildlife Federation’s National Conservation Award for Special Achievement.