Staying Informed

AccessFayetteville provides numerous ways to stay informed about your local government.


City of Fayetteville Wins Statewide Recycling Award


The Arkansas Recycling Coalition (ARC) held its annual awards presentation at the Best Western Inn of the Ozarks Convention Center, Eureka Springs, Arkansas, on September 24th.   The presentation took place during the Arkansas Recycling Coalition’s 23rd Annual Conference & Trade Show.  Each year this educational event attracts approximately 300 reduce, reuse, recycle, and sustainability professionals from around the state and the nation.

The City of Fayetteville was the recipient of ARC’s 2013 Government Recycler of the Year Award.  The Government Recycler of the Year Award honors an agency that has made a significant contribution to the advancement of waste reduction, recycling, and sustainability in Arkansas over the past year. 

Fayetteville administers a Pay-As-You-Throw residential waste program, which promotes recycling and encourages waste reduction.  In 2012, 10,070 tons of materials were diverted from the landfill through the City’s recycling and composting programs.  The City has a 56% curbside recycling participation rate, and is working towards the goal of raising that to 70% by 2015.  A number of recently implemented programs have been designed to increase the City’s total waste diversion rate, including offering recycling to apartment complexes, offering commercial glass recycling in the entertainment district, opening the Marion Orton Recycling Drop Off Center at 735 W. North Street, and increasing education and outreach initiatives.  One of these outreach initiatives is a new marketing campaign for the recycling program designed to promote recycling through changing recycling behaviors. 

On hand to accept the award was Brian Pugh, the City of Fayetteville’s Waste Reduction Coordinator, and Mayor Lioneld Jordan (picture below).

Founded in 1989, the ARC unites companies, government agencies, nonprofit organizations, and individuals in a common effort to promote reduce, reuse, repurpose and RECYCLE as the primary means of SUSTAINABLE waste management in Arkansas.  Other award winners were University of AR for Medical Sciences (Little Rock) for College/University Recycler of the Year; OK Foods, Inc (Fort Smith) for Corporate Recycler of the Year; Howard County Children's Center (Nashville) for Community Involvement of the Year Award;  Don Roberts Elementary School (Little Rock) for School Recycler of the Year;  Second Chance School Supplies (Fayetteville) for Recycling Education Program of the Year Award; and the City of Bryant Parks & Recreation for Government Recycler of the Year Award.  A Distinguished Service Award was presented to Charlie Wood, Delta Plastics, for his many years of dedicated service to ARC.  Award Sponsors for this year’s event included Delta Plastics (Little Rock, AR), Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control (E. Camden, AR), and Regional Recycling & Waste Reduction District (Little Rock, AR).