Staying Informed

AccessFayetteville provides numerous ways to stay informed about your local government.


Fayetteville Police Department History

The Fayetteville Police Department was established in 1870.   During that time, many officers have served this community with pride and distinction but only two of those officers, City Marshall William Patton and Patrolman Lemule "Lem" McPherson, were killed in the line of duty.    We honor the memory of these officers who have made the ultimate sacrifice for the safety and protection of the citizens of Fayetteville.