Fayetteville Police Chief Greg Tabor announced today two Fayetteville Police officers received awards from the Arkansas State Police-Highway Safety Office.

On June 1, 2012, Fayetteville Police Officers Jason Alvarado and Patrick Hanby were recognized for their efforts during the 12th Annual Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) & Occupant Protection Enforcement Awards Ceremony in Little Rock.

Law enforcement agencies around the state participate in Selective Traffic Enforcement Projects (STEP).  The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) funds these projects through grants administered by the Arkansas State Police-Highway Safety Office.  These projects provide additional funds to pay for officers to target specific traffic safety issues that directly affect the lives of the motoring public with the mission of detecting and deterring dangerous driving habits such as impaired driving and those not using seatbelts and/or child safety seats.

Corporal Alvarado worked throughout the year to enforce traffic laws and investigate accidents.  His commitment to making our streets safer have shown throughout his efforts.  Corporal Alvarado has remained committed to the STEP program by working both on and off duty seat belt enforcement.  He has led the department in seat belt and child safety seat enforcement.

Officer Hanby has committed himself to DWI enforcement both on and off duty throughout the year.  Because of his determination and commitment, he has removed 212 intoxicated drivers off our streets this past year.  His high standards and professionalism have resulted in conviction after conviction.  His efforts lead the department and helped to encourage other officers to commit themselves to DWI/DUI enforcement as well.